I Need To Lose Weight and My Daughter is Brutally Honest

13 Jul

fat lady

I love to say that I have the best kids in the world, and I do, but sometimes they can seriously be brutally honest, and many times it is in the most unexpected places or at unimagined times.  Parents, I’m sure  you know what I’m talking about, when your kids blurt out in public that you farted, or say something awkward at family gatherings.  Sometimes though, it is in the comfort of your own home, yes, comfort, but your little terrors turn it into anything but comfort.  Most recently my 5 year old enlightened me on two different facts.  Here is what I am referring to.

This past week I had my younger sister staying with me so that my kids can stay home in place of going to daycare.  Being the great hostess that I am I offered my little sister my bedroom to sleep in, which meant I had to sleep on a small, rather unforgiving twin bed, while my sister enjoyed my plush, memory foam, queen-sized bed.  Our little house was built many years ago so the floor plan is a little odd.  The only restroom in our house is situated next to my daughters’ bedroom so that you have to go through my bedroom, then my daughters’ bedroom in order to get to the bathroom-I have a point, I promise.  Okay, so earlier this week I had just finished taking a wonderful and steamy shower, getting ready to go to hell (this is in reference to my job) and I stepped out into my daughters’ room to get dressed (I hate getting dressed in the restroom, it’s too hot and sticky in there).   I was going on about my business, fully naked, beginning to dress myself, when out of nowhere I heard a rather deep and raspy, yet sweetly innocent voice say, “Remember mommy, you have two bellies”.  After recovering from a slight heart attack due to an unsuspecting voice too early in the morning, I turned to my 5 year old, and saw two small, stubby fingers being held up.  She re-uttered, “Two bellies mommy, two”.  Even though I felt a slight pang in my heart I mustered up the strength to laugh and try to argue in my defense that I had one belly shaped in two.  Nope, this eerily smart 5 year old was not buying it.  I was defeated.  Hence I learned two things that day…I have an extremely honest and blunt 5 year old, and I seriously need to lose weight if my 5 year old is able to see in darkness the shape of her mother.  I am now currently in the market for an elliptical and a great exercise video.

Leave a Reply

South Texas Gamers Expo

The RGV's premier gaming and pop-culture event!

A Multitude of Drops

"My life amounts to no more than one drop in a limitless ocean. Yet what is any ocean, but a multitude of drops?"

The Laughing Mom

At Least It Will Make A Good Story

Don't Repeat This in Preschool

(This made more sense when I still had a preschooler.)

Funny for Nothing

The world as I see it

"Everyone is Special"

Everyone has a story

rainbowsandbullshit

Telling the truth about life and parenting

Things you'll want to know

From the heart of a newly divorced single mother

Where My Treasure Is

"For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also." Matthew 6:21

The Single Mom's Guide to Leaning In

The Place to come when you need to know how to do it all

meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

Single-Mom Soapbox

Advice from the viewpoints of a Christian and an atheist

My Participant Observational Research into Poverty for the Single Mom

I'm going to be so wise when I finally pull out of this.

Sad. Funny. Truthful.

Combining depressing thoughts with comedy and brutal honesty makes for some interesting writing. I know at least one person other than me agrees so that's good enough for me.

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Cordelia's Road Trip

"Women always try to tame themselves as they get older, but the ones that look best are always a bit wilder." - Miuccia Prada

Uncharted Mishaps

I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am. I am. I am. ~Sylvia Plath

