Treasure Your Loved Ones…and Your Life

11 Jun

Life-is-precious

Life is precious but not eternal.  Today I was snapped back into reality for a brief amount of time reminding me that I need to treasure my life and my loved ones.  Earlier today I was involved in a car accident and the fact that it wasn’t minor but it wasn’t major was a rude awakening for me.  So many things went through my mind as I kept replaying the impact over and over again in my head.  What if my kids were with me?  What if the responsible party had been driving a little faster?  What if I would have just driven on the other lane instead of the one I was in?  So many what ifs that will probably haunt me for a while and will remain unanswered forever.  I know that I shouldn’t dwell on this and I will do anything I can to stay away from those thoughts.  For now I can only thank God that I was alone.  This is one “what if” that I know I won’t be able to let go of so soon.  See, we drive (drove) a minivan and my two younger daughters enjoyed sitting in the very back of the van where the groceries are placed.  I know, please scold me here, that my daughters were not supposed to sit back there.  Up until today I was one of those parents who kind of took life for granted and never thought an accident such as this would happen.  Had my girls been with me, there is about an 80% chance that they would have been sitting in the very back where the brunt of the accident occurred.  The rear end of my van was completely caved in and the back windshield had completely shattered.  It sickens me to my stomach to think of what could have transpired had my baby girls been with me today or my precious son who usually sits in the front with me.  He could have sustained whiplash just as bad as I did, or worse.  This is one rude awakening that I welcome with open arms.  It is exactly what I needed to remind me that life is precious but in the blink of an eye it can all come crashing down.   Parents please learn from this and if you happen to be one of those who also take life for granted, don’t.  Several hours after the accident and I am still crying over what happened and what could have happened.  I have learned from my foolish mistakes but I thank God for having kept my children out of harm’s way.

Leave a Reply

South Texas Gamers Expo

The RGV's premier gaming and pop-culture event!

A Multitude of Drops

"My life amounts to no more than one drop in a limitless ocean. Yet what is any ocean, but a multitude of drops?"

The Laughing Mom

At Least It Will Make A Good Story

Don't Repeat This in Preschool

(This made more sense when I still had a preschooler.)

Funny for Nothing

The world as I see it

rainbowsandbullshit

Telling the truth about life and parenting

Things you'll want to know

From the heart of a newly divorced single mother

Where My Treasure Is

"For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also." Matthew 6:21

The Single Mom's Guide to Leaning In

The Place to come when you need to know how to do it all

meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

Single-Mom Soapbox

Advice from the viewpoints of a Christian and an atheist

My Participant Observational Research into Poverty for the Single Mom

I'm going to be so wise when I finally pull out of this.

Sad. Funny. Truthful.

Combining depressing thoughts with comedy and brutal honesty makes for some interesting writing. I know at least one person other than me agrees so that's good enough for me.

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Cordelia's Road Trip

"Women always try to tame themselves as they get older, but the ones that look best are always a bit wilder." - Miuccia Prada

Uncharted Mishaps

I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am. I am. I am. ~Sylvia Plath

