Summer Break is Here! Oh no!

3 Jun

closedforsummer_color

Mondays are always hectic for me, and today was no exception.  In fact, if I had to rate my Monday it would rate a 15 on a scale from 1-10 with 10 being the highest!  Not only did I have to deal with accounting nightmares at work but it just happened to be the first full weekday in which my kids were out for summer break.  Walking in the door I was greeted with a houseful of clutter, as if tripping over toys in the morning when I’m half asleep isn’t enough, now I walk in and my laptop along with the charger are on the floor.  Shoes are all over the living room, my remotes are scattered across the living room, my kitchen looks like a category 5 hurricane overpowered it and the cat is whining at the top of it’s lungs.  Oh yes, summer is here in full effect and with brutal force.

 

So I immediately walk in and meticulously tip-toe through my living room as if there are hidden land mines and proceed to the kitchen to begin washing dishes.  As I’m washing the mount Everest of dishes that are in my sink I ask my kids what they would like to eat for dinner.  I had already taken out some pork chops earlier in the morning with the intent of making that with some mashed potatoes but my kids obviously had something else in mind.  They settled on hot dogs with fried potatoes.  I know I know, not very healthy is what you are thinking, but honestly I let them choose about once a week and the rest of the time they are subjected to my horrible cooking.   I chose to  make them happy today.  Anyways, so as I was done washing the dishes I went ahead and prepared “dinner” and made what I thought were going to be fried potatoes but they came out rather mushy (too much oil I guess).   I served dinner and proceeded to give each of my kids their glass of juice.  If any of you have read in my “About Illiana” section you would know that my 8 year is somewhat of a hardcore tomboy.  So I went ahead and served her in a princess cup and she gave me the “are you serious” look.  My response to that look was “What? It’s not like they are going to jump out and grab you”, in which she proceeded to laugh hysterically.  Now my 8 year old being the outspoken thing that she is poked her potatoes around and said “what the heck kind of potatoes are these”?  Ahhh!!!! Can I catch a break??? She hates the cup, hates the potatoes…geez!  Well whatever, let’s just say she only ate the hotdog and the potatoes became a 2nd helping for me.

After dinner I settled down in time to start watching the Pacers/Heat game (which is actually still going on right now) and in the middle of it I decided to make some chocolate chip cookies.  So there I am along with my handsome and helpful son, preparing the cookie dough batter when we realize we have no baking soda or powder.  That question I asked earlier “can I catch a break”, seems not.  Ah, what the heck.  We decided to go ahead and make them anyway.  I mean shoot, dinner was already horrible might as well end dessert the same way right?  So cookies have baked and they aren’t the best cookies in the world.  They ended up looking like cookie balls instead.  Ooops.  They were sweet so we ate them anyway, you know, something to cleanse the palate.

I would like to mention that during this entire time our 4 week old kitten has been whining at the top of it’s lungs with somewhat of a pathetic look on it’s face.  Charlie, our kitten, is hungry but for reasons personal to himself he would rather starve.  Apparently he doesn’t like the fact that I have switched him from mushy (he would have loved the potatoes) to solid food.  So for the last two days he has been starving himself with only taking sips of milk and turning his nose up at the solid food in his bowl.  As much as my kids are pleading with me to give him something mushy I will not give in.  At last, this is something I can have some control over.  Sorry Charlie, literally.

So as my 5 year old walks away swinging Charlie around as if he was a baton I leave you with a thought, what kind of summer will  you have?  Will it be swinging, starving cats?  Children that hate your cooking?  Chocolate chip balls?  A daily cluttered house?  Whatever it is make the best of it for they are the best memories you will ever have of and with your children.

2 Responses to “Summer Break is Here! Oh no!”

  1. motherhoodisanart June 5, 2013 at 5:58 AM #

    Sounds like a pretty typical day in our house…well, except we don’t have a kitten for the kids to swing around!!

  2. proudsinglemama June 5, 2013 at 12:07 PM #

    Lol. Pretty typical for me too, although it’s a little heightened now with summer break.:)

Leave a Reply

South Texas Gamers Expo

The RGV's premier gaming and pop-culture event!

A Multitude of Drops

"My life amounts to no more than one drop in a limitless ocean. Yet what is any ocean, but a multitude of drops?"

The Laughing Mom

At Least It Will Make A Good Story

Don't Repeat This in Preschool

(This made more sense when I still had a preschooler.)

Funny for Nothing

The world as I see it

Everyone is Special

Everyone has a story

rainbowsandbullshit

Telling the truth about life and parenting

Things you'll want to know

From the heart of a newly divorced single mother

Where My Treasure Is

"For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also." Matthew 6:21

The Single Mom's Guide to Leaning In

The Place to come when you need to know how to do it all

meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

Single-Mom Soapbox

Advice from the viewpoints of a Christian and an atheist

My Participant Observational Research into Poverty for the Single Mom

I'm going to be so wise when I finally pull out of this.

Sad. Funny. Truthful.

Combining depressing thoughts with comedy and brutal honesty makes for some interesting writing. I know at least one person other than me agrees so that's good enough for me.

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Cordelia's Road Trip

"Women always try to tame themselves as they get older, but the ones that look best are always a bit wilder." - Miuccia Prada

Uncharted Mishaps

I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am. I am. I am. ~Sylvia Plath

