Pre-Puberty at the Age of 10?

24 May

puberty

For us parents we like to think that 10 is a very young age, however, in this ever evolving world it may not be as young an age as we think.

My son is probably my biggest worry at the moment simply because he is my oldest.  His moodiness is out of this world, I swear his voice is changing, and his body odor?? Oh my goodness that boy can benefit from about 5 showers a day.  But the biggest clue of all is the fact that he is starting to notice girls.

He came home from school the other day and told me about a girl he was interested in named “Angelica”.  Apparently he asked her if they could take a picture together the next day while at school and she said yes.  My son, being the little heartbreaker that he is,  wouldn’t  be satisfied with just a regular boring old picture, he wanted something better, something a little more personal.  So what did he do?  He passed her a little note in class (remember those parents?) and asked her if they could hug in the picture.  The huge, crescent-shaped smile on his face is all I needed to see to know the answer to that.

Later that night he took his shower and afterwards asked me if I could wake him up in the morning for a second shower.  This to me was a shock simply because getting my son to take one shower alone is virtually impossible, almost like asking me to fit into some size 1 jeans.  I asked him if he wanted to shower in the morning so he could smell good for “Angelica” and he shyly responded “yes”.  He proceeded to ask my opinion as to which clothes he should wear (this was exciting, he never asks my opinion for anything).  He demonstrated several shirts to me along with a few different bluejeans.  With my help he decided to go for a nice Abercrombie shirt and some dark blue jeans with a nice “male” necklace/choker his grandparents had bought him in Mexico a few days ago.  So my son went to bed ready to tackle this nerve-wrecking task of taking a pic with a cute girl the next day.  In the morning I went ahead and woke him up for his shower.  Normally I have to call, sometimes yell,  his name several times so that he can wake up, but not that morning.  He darted right up, grabbed his clothes, his cologne, his deodorant and his gel for his hair and took his shower.  My son, smelling good, looking good, and hair slicked back, was ready to go.  Upon dropping him off at school he gives me the best smile ever and I wish him luck as he walks away to find this extremely lucky girl (yes I’m biased).

So is it pre-puberty or is it some sort of a young boy stage that I am not aware of?  Either way I am a mother who is beaming with pride at how my son handled this beginning chapter in his life.

Leave a Reply

South Texas Gamers Expo

The RGV's premier gaming and pop-culture event!

A Multitude of Drops

"My life amounts to no more than one drop in a limitless ocean. Yet what is any ocean, but a multitude of drops?"

The Laughing Mom

At Least It Will Make A Good Story

Don't Repeat This in Preschool

(This made more sense when I still had a preschooler.)

Funny for Nothing

The world as I see it

"Everyone is Special"

Everyone has a story

rainbowsandbullshit

Telling the truth about life and parenting

Things you'll want to know

From the heart of a newly divorced single mother

Where My Treasure Is

"For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also." Matthew 6:21

The Single Mom's Guide to Leaning In

The Place to come when you need to know how to do it all

meaningofstrife

Seeing the best in life's challenges

Single-Mom Soapbox

Advice from the viewpoints of a Christian and an atheist

My Participant Observational Research into Poverty for the Single Mom

I'm going to be so wise when I finally pull out of this.

Sad. Funny. Truthful.

Combining depressing thoughts with comedy and brutal honesty makes for some interesting writing. I know at least one person other than me agrees so that's good enough for me.

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Cordelia's Road Trip

"Women always try to tame themselves as they get older, but the ones that look best are always a bit wilder." - Miuccia Prada

Uncharted Mishaps

I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am. I am. I am. ~Sylvia Plath

